LERICI CASTLE

In the Middle Ages, Lerici was a free port with no fortifications. In 1241 the Pisans, after defeating the Genoeses during the Battle of Giglio…

Discover more

THE PARISH CHURCH OF SAINT FRANCIS

Completed in 1636, this is the second church dedicated to Saint Francis – the first one, built in the 14th Century…

Discover more

THE ORATORY AND THE TOWER OF SAINT ROCH

Built “extra moenia” in 1287, this baroque church was dedicated to St Martin and St Christopher…

Discover more

PIAZZA MOTTINO AND THE PISAN VILLAGE

This little square was named after a family of men of letters, prelates and admirals in charge of the papal fleet…

Discover more

CA’DORIA AND THE “CARPANETA” ROAD

The “Carpaneta” road starts from Piazza Garibaldi and goes up to the hills of Lerici…

Discover more

THE CHURCH OF SAINT MARTHA

The church of Saint Marta is located in the heart of the “carobi”and it is easily reachable by entering the fortified gate in Piazza Mottino…

Discover more

 SAN TERENZO CASTLE

Built around a 12th century guard-tower, this castle was built by the people of San Terenzo themselves, and they still are very proud of it…

Discover more

VILLA MAGNI

This villa was property of the Magni family and in the spring of 1822 it was rented by Percy Bisshe Shelley and his wife Mary…

Discover more

CHURCH OF SAINT MARY OF THE ASSUMPTION

Its architectural structure dates back to 1619, but the church was built on a 13th Century place of worship…

Discover more

THE SERENELLA

For thirty-seven years, the “Serenella” was the buen retiro of the local writer Paolo Mantegazza…

Discover more

SIGHTING TOWER

The old, square sighting tower is still visible in the heart of the historical center, at the end of the fisrt part of a road called “via tra la Torre”…

Discover more

THE CHURCH OF SAINT GEORGE

Built between 1564 and 1584, the church of Saint George was a fortification…

Discover more

THE TALE OF THE OCTOPUS

The legend written on the marble plaque next to the church was created after several attempted incursions by pirates in the 17th century.

Discover more

THE “SOTTO-RIA” GALLERY

The gallery is located along the parapet walk connecting a squared tower (demolished after the Second World War), the round tower of the Saint George church…

Discover more

COMMUNAL WASHHOUSES

The water was gathered from the little canal below, then flowed from one basin to another and ended up into the sea…

Discover more

CHURCH ORATORY OF SANTA MARIA

The Church oratory of Santa Maria was the first center of religious workship in Tellaro…

Discover more

MARINA GATE

Until the end of the 18th Century, this gate was the only point of access to the walled village…

Discover more